New Year Resolutions: why keep them for the new year & how many have you achieved?

I wonder what it is about New Year Resolutions that make us feel so energised on that first fresh day of a new year? I mean it’s not like anything monumental has happened since the previous day; you are still the same person surrounded by the same people, probably living in the same house and likely to return to the same job the next day.

So what is it that puts so much significance on such a simple event, after all it is just another day isn’t it? Or is it that psychological satisfaction of slamming the hypothetical door in the face of a year you happily wish away?

I for one did make some resolutions as I waved good riddance to 2012 although I did cheat a bit with one of them as I had already set the wheels in motion in December of that year, but nonetheless, I set myself three goals for 2013:

  • Meet up with ‘Christmas Card’ friends who I hadn’t seen in donkey’s years (we all have those don’t we!)
  • Win an award (not too fussy about nature of same but would prefer something linked to my trade)
  • Buy my own house (after 6+ years still living in a rented house that was meant to be a short term solution)

So some pretty hefty ones there I’m sure you’ll agree. But we did something on 31 December 2012 that we had never done on any other new year’s eve – went down to Charmouth beach with a bar-b-q, music & fireworks. So in itself, this rather unusual (for us) occasion was a good start to my determination to not tread the same path that had thus far lead us further away from our end goal.firework Dec 2012

So going back to my first resolve; it took quite a few emails to agree a date, then I had to face the 145 mile drive to reach them and the worry that this great reunion would be not so much friends reunited as ‘were we ever really friends’ as our lives have gone off in different directions over the years.

But I am pleased to say it was worth the effort, we have all changed (although we each of us said “you haven’t changed a bit” to reassure our alter ego), but not too much and it was nice to feel a continued attachment to our past that has helped mould our current life. It was also of immense pleasure to pat myself on the back for achieving one of my New Year Resolutions!

One down two to go.

Then serendipity came knocking or should that be ‘tweeting’ as happenstance lead me to look at the @WIWAwards tweet that was calling for entries into their Women Inspiring Women Awards Ceremony.

I didn’t hesitate, although my tenacity for diving headlong into things has occasionally been my undoing; I find myself using Del Boy’s oft quoted expression of “he who dares wins” and have started to throw caution to the wind as I try to live by the mantra of ‘why not’ rather than ‘why?’

So having put myself forward as a candidate, I moved onto other projects and forgot about it. But to my delight and surprise I received an email telling me I had reached the next stage and been shortlisted to win an award! I was highly chuffed and started to regret not taking a bit more time in preparing my bio and finding a slightly more flattering image. But the fact remained I was in with a chance of achieving another of my Resolutions AND being recognised for my creative accomplishments.

Of course it’s not in the bag by any means, I must gain lots & lots of votes and I have to say this could be the stumbling block given my closeted existence as a writer, I don’t get out much so have a pretty small circle of friends. waitrose book signing

But the way I see it, even if I don’t win the award, it shows me that if you put your mind to it and keep looking for opportunities, combined with good timing there is always a chance for you to get what you really want.

And that got me thinking; why wait to resolve your determination? Why not treat each week or even each day as a New Year’s Eve and plan how you can fulfil your ambition.

I reckon if I did win the award then my third and last resolution is just round the next corner on this less straight but far more interesting road I took to on 1 January 2013.

Here’s a thought, you could help by voting for me here http://www.womeninspiringwomenawards.co.uk/sophiamoseley.html

It could be the making of me – no pressure mind!Sophia Swire

 

About Sophia Moseley

Freelance Copywriter, Feature Writer and Author. Looking for that illusive job that every working mother craves but surviving, just, on what I can find. My writing and poetry keeps my sane. Watch this space.
This entry was posted in Life's Like That and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment