It’s my dad’s birthday today. He may not be here anymore but I still say…

Happy Birthday dad, wherever you are,

No matter the distance, no matter how far

You may be away from me now that you’ve gone,

But my love for you now is still just as strong.

For whilst you’re not here and I can’t see your face,

You’ll always be here, in my heart, there’s a place

That forever will be somewhere I can go

When I’m feeling confused or just feeling low.

You’re the dad that was funny, the dad who was strict,

The dad who found time and knew how I ticked.

The lessons I learned from you, I in turn teach,

Always trying so hard to practice what I preach.

Many Happy Returns wherever you are,

Many Happy Returns to the best dad by far.

daddy young man

About Sophia Moseley

Freelance Copywriter, Feature Writer and Author. Looking for that illusive job that every working mother craves but surviving, just, on what I can find. My writing and poetry keeps my sane. Watch this space.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment