I was inspired by Christine Lagarde on BBC Woman’s Hour but then the estate agent arrived

After the usual weekday morning rush and dropping off sons 1&2 at school I hurried on to one of my four jobs I currently hold down; then not for the first time I despised my lifestyle and longed to find just one job of work that I knew precisely where I would be each day and for how long. But instead my daily schedule is to say the least, impossible to schedule.

But en route to visiting my mother who is now in a care home; this duty being on top of my four jobs, I listened with interest to Christine Lagarde who was speaking to Jenni Murray on BBC Woman’s Hour.

I felt immediately inspired when she spoke of the benefits of diversity and how different views and experiences all help to give a balanced outlook and resolution to problems.

Yes! I thought, you can’t get much more diverse than having several jobs, dealing with the deteriorating health of an aging mother and looking after house and home. My erratic and by-the-seat-of-your-pants lifestyle must mean I’m a well rounded, sensible, compassionate human being. I felt invincible and started to work out how I would slot in a trip to the bank before heading off to the theatre to interview some performers, leaving me just enough time to dash back to collect my sons at the end of the school day.

Watch me fly!

But then someone popped my inflated balloon of fervour.

Because I had to tear back to our house to meet the estate agent along with his measuring friend so they could take photos and measurements of rooms etc

No, don’t get excited, it’s not our house we are selling, it’s not even our house. We rent and the owner is selling up which means we have to move out. Not just that but being a lowly tenant we have to allow the estate agent and all their pals to tramp round, opening doors and cupboards, look inside wardrobes and inspect fixtures and fittings.

Suddenly my unconquerable spirit was doused in a dose of reality and the prospect of trying to find yet another suitable house to rent (this will be 6th move in 11 years) reminded me I’ve cocked up badly; and as the two men wandered round, in and out, up and down, I resigned myself to my lowly status once more.

I didn’t even wait for them to leave before making a cup of tea and cutting myself a slice of cake (and no, I didn’t offer them either option); but as I squeezed the bag, perhaps just a bit too hard because the bag started to split, I gave myself a dressing down. I think I may even have spoken out loud, no matter the estate agent thinks I’m a lunatic, though it may put off prospective buyers, but what the heck.

Sorry, as often happens when I become maudlin I start to digress; I reminded myself that despite the number of different jobs I have, I’m still able to do all the other stuff that is important, including visiting my mum, taking my sons to school and of course my writing.

So I reckon Christine is right, diversity is a good thing and I am a well rounded, sensible and compassionate human being, but if you should happen to have a full time job or even permanent part time, you can offer an ex-claims manager who is a fairly good copywriter and very good at meeting & greeting people, don’t be slow in coming forward because at the moment you won’t see me for dust!

 

circus4

About Sophia Moseley

Freelance Copywriter, Feature Writer and Author. Looking for that illusive job that every working mother craves but surviving, just, on what I can find. My writing and poetry keeps my sane. Watch this space.
This entry was posted in Life's Like That and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I was inspired by Christine Lagarde on BBC Woman’s Hour but then the estate agent arrived

  1. Tracey West says:

    Hey lovely girl,

    That’s a great piece but I see deep sadness in it and would love you to come and have a brew. I wish I could cure some of your ills but I can’t, but I can provide a shoulder and more tea and more cake…

    Sending much love and do keep writing – it is a salvation.

    Your friend,

    Txx

Leave a comment